FIFA eWorld Cup 2021 to be held in London - Upcomer
Close Menu

Hit enter to search or ESC to close

FIFA has announced the return of the FIFA eWorld Cup, after a year-long hiatus due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The 2021 FIFA eWorld Cup will be held in London from August 4 to 8, with a $500,000 prize pool. The FIFA eWorld Cup is the most prestigious tournament for any FIFA professional player in the world. The 2021 tournament will feature 32 of the best players from all around the globe, for the opportunity to lift the trophy and a $250,000 winners reward.

However, FIFA has said that it continues to monitor the pandemic situation as it may affect current plans for the tournament.

Format of the eWorld Cup for 2021

The tournament will feature 32 of the best players from various regions in the world. The 2021 FIFA eWorld cup is unique however, because FIFA has announced that every matchup will be played on both Xbox and PlayStation platforms. This means that the FIFA eWorld Cup will feature a cross-console format as of the first game of the event. In previous years, the tournament has usually been divided into Xbox and Ps4 players, with their own separate finals before a cross-console final.

Additionally, players will be divided into four groups with eight players each. Only the best four players in each group will qualify for the single-elimination knockout phase. The aggregate scores of the knockout matchups will decide which players advance to the next stage. After the round of the 16 is over, players will then advance to the quarter-finals and onto the semi-finals until  the last two standing make it to the finals.

Qualification for the eWorld Cup

To compete at the eWorld Cup, players will first have to qualify through a FIFA 21 Global Series Playoff in their region. All regions have separate rankings with several tournaments, through which players can earn points. The Playoff dates for each region are as follows:

  • Oceania: May 15-16
  • East Asia: June 5-6
  • West Asia: June 11-13
  • North America: June 18-20
  • South America: June 24-27
  • Europe (for Xbox players): July 2-4
  • Europe (for Ps4 players): July 9-11

Jimoh Rashidat is a freelance esports writer with over two years of experience. She covers FIFA, League of Legends and general gaming content.