Sources: Riot Games Korea announces new LCK Awards
Close Menu

Hit enter to search or ESC to close

According to sources close to the scene, Riot Games Korea has unveiled the LCK Awards for the Korean region in the 2020 season. This will be to recognize the efforts of players and to commemorate the best teams and coaching staff. Prize money will be attached to each award.

LCK Award categories

The LCK Awards will feature seven different categories. As detailed by Inven Global, the first category is the All-LCK team award. This will go to an LCK all-star team with the most votes. All players are eligible for this award as long as they have played at least 18 games in the split.

The second voting category is the Best Coach award. Head and supporting coaches from all teams are qualified to win this award. Coaches are rarely recognized, and their efforts frequently go unnoticed. As such, the LCK Awards looks to put the coaches in the same limelight as the players.

The third award is the Young Player award. Only players who are below the age of 19 are eligible for this voting category. With the influx of youngsters in the LCK, especially in teams like Dragon X, Griffin and Sandbox Gaming, a lot of players will aim for this award.

The next voting category is the Regular Season MVP. This award is open to all players who played at least 18 games in the split, while the Finals MVP will go to the best player at the LCK finals. Meanwhile, the Player of the Split award will go to the player with the highest number of Player of the Game (POG) awards. POG awards will reportedly replace MVP awards.

According to Ashley Kang, founder of Korizon, voting will take place at the end of every split. The voting panel will entail a variety of experts, including players, coaches, analysts, and casters. Players and coaches involved in the voting cannot vote for themselves.

Prize money for each category

The prizes for each category will vary. Each category will receive amounts ranging from $1,000 to $4,000 USD. All-LCK Team recipients will receive an amount equivalent to $1,700 USD, while Finals and Regular Season MVP prizes equate to $4,200 USD. The Player of the Split will get an estimated $1,700 USD, and $1,300 USD will go to the Best Coach and Young Player recipients.

Jimoh Rashidat is a freelance esports writer with over two years of experience. She covers FIFA, League of Legends and general gaming content.