Riot Games rewards Honor Level 5 League of Legends players
Close Menu

Hit enter to search or ESC to close

In addition to all of the other 10-year anniversary stuff, Riot Games is giving out rewards to a select group of League of Legends players. These players are a small percentage that has achieved the highest tier of Honor Level. Honor Level is a feature that was introduced to reward positive team members and discourage toxicity. Along with the default in-game cosmetic rewards given to players with Honor Level 5, Riot has now emailed all of them with a personalized letter.

Riot is emailing hand drawn signs to honor 5 players from leagueoflegends

Honoring the honorable

In a Reddit post by Virree, the League of Legends player shows off an email from Riot Games about their achievement. “Thank you for being a positive influence in-game. We appreciate and are grateful for all that you bring to the League of Legends community,” writes the letter. While it is an email, it also features a handwritten note included as a virtual shout-out.

Riot Games Honor Level

The Honor Level feature was introduced to promote positive behavior in League of Legends. The previous discipline system, The Tribunal, was initially implemented in 2011 and deactivated in 2014. It involved something similar to Counter-Strike: Global Offensive’s in-game replay review system. That was dubbed “Overwatch” – not to be confused with the Blizzard Entertainment game.

Players were assigned a case to view and could decide whether the League of Legends player should be punished. The Tribunal judges had evidence that ranged from chat logs, game statistics, to other details. However, it didn’t work as effectively, so Riot turned to a carrot and stick approach instead.

Honor Level 5

With Honor Level, players can vote for one teammate after each game, no matter whether a win or loss. There are three categories, which consist of ‘Stayed Cool’, ‘Great Shotcalling’, and ‘GG <3’. If the majority of the team honors a Summoner, their name gets a special animation effect. By accumulating honors, they will also unlock loading screen flair and other effects. A certain Honor Level is also required to sign up for certain game modes like League of Legends‘ Clash.

Riot Games Honor Level League

Those that receive negative feedback will be placed into the Dishonorable Level, which temporarily locks the player. Chat restrictions and temporary bans will also demote a player’s level. However, those that are positive will earn Key Fragments and other cosmetic rewards. This includes Honor Capsules at Level 3, 4, and 5, along with Honor Orbs at certain checkpoints.

Are there any other games where players are rewarded for good behavior? Let us know your Honor Level, and keep up with Daily Esports for all of your League of Legends coverage.

Ethan Chen is a writer with over 3 years of experience covering esports, gaming, and business.