Meet the final evolutions of the starter Pokémon in Legends: Arceus
Close Menu

Hit enter to search or ESC to close

Pokémon Legends: Arceus has become available in some parts of the world. As a result, trainers will soon be jumping into an open-world Pokémon experience for the very first time. Just like in previous Pokémon games, players will get to choose from one of three starters to begin their journey.

However, this game switches up the formula by letting players pick a starter Pokémon from a previous generation. The options are Cyndaquil from Johto, Oshawott from Unova or Rowlett from Alola. But, each of these starters gets a brand-new Hisuian form, adding a new experience for players even if they’ve picked these starter Pokémon in the past.

Here’s a look at each of the final evolutions for the starter Pokémon in Legends: Arceus.

Pokémon Legends: Arceus starter final evolutions | Hisuian Decidueye

Hisuian Decidueye
Provided by Serebii

At level 34, the Grass/Flying-type Dartrix will evolve into the Grass/Fighting-type Hisuian Decidueye. The humanoid bird Pokémon now learns an array of Fighting attacks to match its new type, including Rock Smash and Aura Sphere.

Decidueye’s new signature move is a Fighting-type move known as Triple Arrows. With this 50 base power attack, Decidueye hits its opponent with an axe kick followed by three arrows. Not only does this move lower the target’s defensive stats, but it also increases Decidueye’s chances of landing a critical hit with future attacks.

According to the Hisuian Pokédex, the Grass-type final starter evolution stores air in its feathers to keep the Pokémon warm even amidst the extremely cold weather in Hisui.

Hisuian Typhlosion

Hisuian Typhlosion
Provided by Serebii

At level 36, the Fire-type Quilava will evolve into Hisuian Typhlosion. This leaner and spookier variant becomes a Ghost-type and gains eerie purplish flames that sometimes appear around its neck. Fittingly, this Fire/Ghost-type can also learn several Ghost-type moves by leveling up, including Hex and Shadow Ball.

Typhlosion’s new signature move is the Ghost-type Infernal Parade. Upon executing this 60 base power attack, Typhlosion will launch multiple fireballs at its target. Then, it has the potential to leave the opponent with a burn. Additionally, if the target already has a status condition, the move will deal twice as much damage. As a result, Typhlosion can deal massive damage by burning its opponent in one turn then launching another Infernal Parade during the next turn.

This new Typhlosion form is influenced by the sacred mountain in the center of Hisui, according to the Pokédex. This final starter evolution is also said to purify lost souls using its flames and lead them to the afterlife in Pokémon: Legends Arceus.

Hisuian Samurott

Hisuian Samurott
Provided by Serebii

Finally, players can evolve their Dewott into Hisuian Samurott at level 34. Now a Water/Dark-type, this final starter evolution gains access to moves such as Night Slash and Dark Pulse in Pokémon Legends: Arceus.

Samurott’s new Dark-type signature move is the 65 base power Ceaseless Edge. Using its shell blade, Samurott will attack its opponent with an increased critical hit rate. In addition, the move leaves behind shell splinters that will continue to deal damage to the opponent for multiple turns.

The Hisuian Pokédex describes this new Samurott form as “hard of heart and deft of blade.” Like the other final starter evolutions, the unique environment of the Hisui region has influenced the way Samurott appears in Pokémon Legends: Arceus.

Dylan Tate is an alumnus of the Hussman School of Journalism and Media at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. He is a gaming journalist with a love for Nintendo esports, particularly Super Smash Bros. and Pokémon.