League of Legends Pacific Championship Series teams revealed for 2020
Close Menu

Hit enter to search or ESC to close

Riot Games previously announced that it would be merging the League of Legends Master Series (LMS) and League of Legends SEA Tour (LST). The LMS consisted of seven teams from Taiwan, Hong Kong, and Macao, and the LST included eight teams from Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, and Thailand. The merged league will be called the Pacific Championship Series (PCS) and start on Feb. 8, 2020. However, it will only consist of 10 teams altogether from the two regions.

Pacific Championship Series

“The goal of the new league is to continue to increase the level of competition in Southeast Asia, Taiwan, and Hong Kong while creating a more engaging experience for fans,” wrote Riot Games in a statement. “Although several of these teams and their associated organizations are new to League of Legends, they have proven their dedication through success in the broader esports space.”

“The PCS will pit veteran esports teams against an array of new organizations with everything to prove.”

After an extensive vetting process over multiple months, Riot Games has revealed the organizations participating in the 2020 PCS season. These teams had to meet requirements such as having responsible financials, a mutual understanding of the fanbase, and being able to cultivate an experience for each region.

2020 League of Legends season

So far, nine teams of the 10 teams have been revealed:

  • ahq eSports Club (Taipei)
    • ahq represented the LMS region in multiple World Championships.
  • Alpha Esports (Taipei)
    • Alpha entered the scene during season 9 of the LMS, with a brand new roster for the PCS.
  • J Team (Taipei)
    • The team debuted during the 2016 LMS Summer Split, with consistent performance and a win during the past LMS Summer Split. The organization is also owned by musician Jay Chou.
  • G-Rex Gaming (Hong Kong)
    • G-Rex Gaming is owned by Hong Kong-based entertainment company Emperor Entertainment Group. The organization represented the LMS at Worlds in 2018.
  • Hong Kong Attitude (Hong Kong)
    • Hong Kong Attitude was founded in 2013 and has competed at multiple world championships including the past year’s event.
  • Resurgence (Singapore)
    • Resurgence is the largest esports organization in Singapore.
  • Liyab Esports (Manila)
    • Formerly known as Mineski, the team is well known in the Manila scene.
  • Nova Esports (Bangkok)
    • Nova is most well known for its performance in the mobile esports scene, with multiple world championships.
  • Talon (Hong Kong)
    • While based in Hong Kong, Talon has also achieved esports victories in Taiwan, South Korea, and Thailand.

The PCS will be hosted by Riot Games and FunPlus Esports as co-operators, with Garena as the publisher for League of Legends in the region. FunPlus Esports is independently operated from FunPlus Phoenix, the 2019 world championships winner. The league will move to a best-of-one format with double-elimination playoffs, along with an increase in the number of games. Broadcasts will be available in English, Mandarin, and Thai.

Ethan Chen is a writer with over 3 years of experience covering esports, gaming, and business.