Fortnite Championship Series: How to qualify - Upcomer
Close Menu

Hit enter to search or ESC to close

The Fortnite team released the official rules for the Fortnite Championship Series. The event starts on Aug. 17 for all regions. Fortnite Championship Series (FNCS) is a six-week online competition for Trios teams.

First, players must reach Champion Division in Arena mode. Second, teams will compete in five weeks of online tournaments. Each week teams will qualify for the FNCS Season Finals. Additionally, all teams competing will receive Series Points based on placement each week. Then the qualified teams will compete in the Season Finals for increased prizes. The number of teams qualifying each week and that make the finals varies by region. The Season Finals are from Sept. 20 to Sept. 22. The majority of teams will qualify by accumulating the most Series Points over the five weeks.

Epic Games has put up another $10 million for the Fortnite Championship Series. This prize pool is split between seven regions, and players receive prizes weekly and from the Season X Finals.

Fortnite Championship Series weekly structure

For Trios that reach Champions Division in Arena mode, they will compete each weekend for prizes and qualifying spots. Each weekend consists of three rounds. The first round is open to all players within Champions Division. Next, the top 1000-scoring teams from round one advance to round two. Afterwards, round three takes the top 150 teams from round two based on their scores. Ultimately, either eight or four teams qualify for the FNCS Season Finals out of round three. The top 100,000 teams receive Series Points. Points vary based on placement.

Weekly competitions will take place on both Saturday and Sunday. Round one and two occur on Saturday. Then the final round of 150 players takes place on Sunday. The competition times vary based on region and location. All three rounds of the weekly series consist of 10 games or a three-hour time limit.

(Asia, Oceania, and Middles East regions have a slightly different structure. The regions below are Europe, North America West, North America East, and Brazil.)

  • Saturday
    • Round 1: All teams in Champions Division
    • Round 2: Top 1000 scoring teams from Round 1
  • Sunday
    • Round 3: Top 150 teams from Round 2
      • Top 8 teams qualify for Season Finals
      • Top 100,000 teams receive Series Points based on Placement
      • Cash prizes awarded to top teams (amounts vary by region)

Fortnite Season Finals structure

Teams advance to the FNCS Season Finals two ways. The first is by finishing on top of round three of the Weekly competitions. Secondly, teams accumulate Series Points each week. The top 92 teams (or 46 for other regions), based on Series Points, at the end of the five weeks qualify for the Season Finals. Teams that already qualified by finishing at the top of a region during a respective week cannot double qualify with Series Points. Next, 132 teams in total will compete in the Season Finals. Overall, the competition lasts over three days. Season Finals begin on Friday, Sept. 20 and continue through Sunday, Sept. 22. The group stages occur over the first two days with the Finals on Sunday.

The Season Finals consists of four heats with the 132 teams. After the heats or group stage, then 32 teams advance to the Championship Series Grand Finals. Ultimately, the finals determine the winners of top cash prizes. Those teams that reach the Season Finals still receive monetary prizes, but the majority of the cash goes to the top finishing teams.

This schedule and structure is similar to what players asked for. It benefits teams that have a great weekend or remain consistent over the course of the Fortnite Championship Series. Additionally, player receive prizes each week and large cash prizes for reaching the Season Finals.

Do you have any questions about the FNCS structure? Will you participate in the Fortnite Championship Series? Let us know in the comments below and stay tuned to Daily Esports for all of the latest Fortnite news!