Fortnite Champion Series Week 5: EU region standings and recap
Close Menu

Hit enter to search or ESC to close

Week 5 of the Fortnite Champion Series ended with another excellent performance by Europe’s top trio. Kyle “Mongraal” Jackson, Dmitri “Mitr0” Van de Vrie, and Benjy “Benjyfishy” David Fish won the region by a significant margin. Currently, the trio looks unstoppable. Their run of dominance makes them the favorite to win the EU Season Finals. Mongraal, Mitr0, and Benjyfishy captured a 1.4 average placement across all five weeks. They finished in first three out of the five weeks with the only other placements being second. Ultimately, the trio is a force to watch in the finals.

MMB on top of FNCS

In Week 5, Mongraal, Mitr0, and Benjyfishy only played eight games. They won the first game to start Round 3 with 11 eliminations. The team followed that up with a second place finish and 14 eliminations. Together, the first two games put the trio in first place overall. MMB held the lead until the end. Lastly, the trio put together a 17-elimination victory royale to end the tournament. Overall, MMB ended with 135 points, including two wins and 78 eliminations.

Consistency is the key to success in competitive Fortnite. Each week, this trio plays at another level compared to the rest of the teams. They land Retail Row, clear the location of other players, and farm the best loot location on the map. Then the trio rotates towards the zone and looks to punish players flying through the air. In the end, MMB attempt to take the high ground. If successful, this team normally can close out the game with double-digit eliminations.

Top 8 teams move on

The format of the Fortnite Champion Series provides teams five weeks to earn a spot in the season finals. Each week, the top eight teams earn the opportunity to play in the finals. Each region runs separately. These teams qualified in Week 4 from the European region:

  1. NRG Benjyfishy, FaZe Mongraal, Mitr0
  2.  Fnatic Pr0voked, COOLER Noward, FaZe Vorwenn
  3.  E11 Tschiiinken, E11 Stompy, COOLER aqua
  4. G2 Tohaj, hREDS BELAEU, Kaxie
  5. MSF Osmo, MSF Kylix, MSF Ares
  6. Eon RedRush, RBK Zyppaan, RBK LeftEye
  7. TSM_Crue, LG beehive, chapix 74
  8. Gambit.fwexY, Gambit.letw1k3, Secret_Domentos

The open qualifiers are over. Next, 132 teams split into four heats in the season finals based on overall standings. The finals consist of two rounds. First, teams compete in heats and the top eight teams move on to the Grand Finals. Then teams play six games to determine an overall champion. First place takes home a total of $480,000. At this time, Mongraal, Mitr0, and Benjyfishy look like a heavy favorite to win it all.