ChannelFireball reveals pro 'Team CFB' during Mythic Championship V
Close Menu

Hit enter to search or ESC to close

ChannelFireball has announced amid Mythic Championship V that it will be forming a Magic: The Gathering Arena esports team featuring top players from around the world. In a blog post from team co-captain Luis Scott-Vargas, “Team CFB” detailed the full roster and their accomplishments.

Who are Team CFB?

The team consists of the following:

  • Luis Scott-Vargas
  • William “Huey” Jensen
  • Jeffrey “sjow” Brusi
  • Gaby Spartz
  • Reid “The Bones” Duke
  • Martin Juza
  • Andrea Mengucci

Each member of Team CFB has a list of accomplishments and experiences that they bring to the team. Pro Tour Hall of Fame member Luis Scott-Vargas has been a staple in the Magic community for years. As a founding member of Team CFB, Scott-Vargas has almost 10 years of experience competing at high-level events. Co-captain William “Huey” Jensen is a Pro Tour Hall of Fame member, with 6 Grand Prix wins and is the 2017 Magic World Champion.

Martin Juza is similarly a Pro Tour Hall of Fame member with 32 Grand Prix Top 8s who specializes in the Limited format. Similarly, Andrea Mengucci previously took first place in the Mythic Invitational earlier this year and won the World Magic Cup in 2015, solidifying his place on the team.

Jeffrey Brusi is a former Warcraft III and Hearthstone pro who had a strong finish in Mythic Championship III. Gaby Spartz is one of the most popular streamers in the Magic community and a founding member of Team Viper. And longtime MTG fans will recognize heavy hitter Reid Duke, who has 4 Pro Tour Top 8s, a Pro Tour Team Series victory, and 23 Grand Prix Top 8s as just some of his accomplishments during his time playing Magic.

Where to watch

Several of the team members will be participating in the Magic: The Gathering Arena Mythic Championship V this weekend. The three-day tournament is a best-of-three Standard constructed event. Day 1 has 64 players competing in seven rounds, with players needing five wins to advance to day 2. The top 24 players from day 1 will join the Magic Pro League divisional champions in another seven-round event. Wrapping up the event is day 3, where the top 8 players will compete in a double-elimination tournament for the first place prize of $100,000.

Ryan Hay is a writer and content creator currently living in New York. Video games, anime, and Magic: The Gathering have all been strong passions in his life and being able to share those passions with others is his motivation for writing. You can find him on Twitter where he complains about losing on MTG Arena a lot.