BestNess wins Super Smash Bros. Ultimate Singles at The Box
Close Menu

Hit enter to search or ESC to close

Spencer “BestNess” Garner won Super Smash Bros. Ultimate Singles at The Box on May 10. Throughout the whole tournament, he did not lose more than a game against any single opponent.

BestNess swept through most of his opponents in pools quite easily. He did not drop a single game until just before top 32, when he beat Alan “Gen” Soriano 2-1. From there, BestNess cruised into top 8 on winners side with 2-0 victories over both “Mj” and Yezre’el “Yez” Askew.

After 3-1 wins against Raffi “Raffi-X” Azar and Gavin “Tweek” Dempsey, BestNess had earned himself a spot in Grand Finals. With an even more dominant 3-0 over Tweek in Grands, he became the champion of The Box. It was his second major online tournament victory, following the Quarantine Series April Minor. As a result, BestNess is the current frontrunner for the best online Super Smash Bros. Ultimate player in the world.

With 8,158 entrants, The Box featured the most entrants of any Super Smash Bros. Ultimate tournament to date. In conjunction with Team Liquid, the event was hosted by Juan “Hungrybox” DeBiedma and NFL star Le’Veon “Juic326” Bell.

Other results from The Box

Many of the world’s top offline players performed well at The Box, including Samuel “Dabuz” Buzby and Eric “ESAM” Lew. Of course, most notable among them was runner-up Tweek. During his run, Tweek took sets off of Christian “Peabnut” Londoño, Darius “Laid” Hill, and Gabriel “Epic_Gabriel” Romero. In addition, he double-eliminated Dabuz.

Of all the players in top 8, Yez was definitely the odd man out when considering their relative performances offline. Yez had to overcome Brian “Benny&TheJets” Navarro, “Sogoodpop”, and Frederic “Fwed” Levreault just to reach top 32. From there, he beat Enrique “Maister” Hernández Solís and Laid en route to 7th place.

Some players made unexpected runs to finish just outside of top 8 at The Box, including Devlin “Frosty” Arellano, Anthony “BluStriker” M., and Laid. However, Jacob “Jboss” Moreno boasts perhaps the most impressive run of the 9th place finishers. Jboss beat Brett “8BitMan” Esposito, Griffin “Fatality” Miller, Christopher “Chrininja” Lawrence, Jestise “MVD” Negron, and Carrington “Wrath” Osborne.

Dylan Tate is an alumnus of the Hussman School of Journalism and Media at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. He is a gaming journalist with a love for Nintendo esports, particularly Super Smash Bros. and Pokémon.