Apex Legends Ranked Series 3: A detailed analysis
Close Menu

Hit enter to search or ESC to close

Alongside Apex Legends‘ Season 4 launch, players will be able to participate in Ranked Series 3. The main purpose of this update is to introduce changes to the system based on the feedback collected from the players, as well as the analytics of the overall series.

Among the changes made to Ranked Series, the ones of utmost significance include the introduction of Master Tier, the Season Split, and changes to the reward system.

Master Tier

All Tiers available in Series 3 of Ranked Apex Legends
Introduction of a Master Tier (Courtesy Respawn Entertainment)

Ranked Series 3 will add a new rank to the list, the Master Tier, which will lie directly below Apex Predator. The biggest reason behind this addition comes from how players found it easier to reach Apex Predator in Ranked Series 2 than they had in Series 1. As a result, it became hard to showcase the skill between any two Apex Predators this past season.

According to the statistics, the distribution of players among the Tiers in Series 2 was as follows:

  • Bronze: 3.9% (Series 2) vs 5.1% (Series 1)
  • Silver: 29.1% (Series 2)  vs 40% (Series 1)
  • Gold: 35.3% (Series 2) vs 35.7% (Series 1)
  • Platinum: 23.6% (Series 2) vs 16.8% (Series 1)
  • Diamond: 7.1% (Series 2)  vs 2.1% (Series 1)
  • Apex Predator: 1.0% (Series 2)  vs 0.2% (Series 1)

While Master and Apex Predator Tier will have the same Entry Cost, Apex Predator will consist of only the top 500 players by platform. The RP required to make it to Master Tier will still be 10,000 RP, as Apex Predator was. Apex Predators can also drop down to Master Tier if anybody manages to earn more RP than them. This change was done to ensure the high status of Apex Predators, respecting their great investment in the game.

Season Split and soft reset

Ranked Series 3 played in two splits
The two splits of Ranked Series 3 – one in World’s Edge and one in Kings Canyon. (Courtesy Respawn Entertainment)

Due to the long span of Apex Legends Ranked Series 1 and 2, its engagements slowly dissipated as things became more tedious and monotonous. As a result, Respawn has decided to divide Ranked Series 3 into two parts of, roughly, six weeks each. Each part will be played on a different map to encourage more people to play the competitive game mode.

The first split will be held on World’s Edge from Feb. 3 to Mar. 23. Meanwhile, Split 2 will feature a return to Kings Canyon and will take place from Mar. 24 to May 5.

Ranked rewards will be granted for the highest Tier achieved in either split of the series. Not only that, but players can earn exclusive animated badges if they can reach the same Tier in both splits.

Initially, players will incur a soft rest, which means that they will be demoted down by a Tier and a half at the start of the Ranked Series. After the end of the first split, another soft reset will occur, thus making the Ranked Series even more challenging.

Reward System

Overall, the Reward System in Series 3 will work much like the first and second Ranked Series. However, there is a slight tweak in the distribution of dive trails. Dive trails will now only be earned to use with the next Series. When that next Series ends, if you haven’t reached the same Tier, you will lose those higher-ranked Trails.

This rule doesn’t apply to those players who have earned their trials in Apex Legends Season 1 or 2, as they can keep those forever.

Other changes

Loss Forgiveness

The prompt of Loss Forgiveness in Ranked Series 3.
A warning alert displayed while quitting a Ranked Game. (Courtesy Respawn Entertainment)

The Loss Forgiveness awarded upon your teammates leaving is unchanged, while the loss forgiveness awarded when you leave a match is now limited to only once per day. This is done to stop people from abusing the system. If you exceed the limit more than three times in a series, you will lose all the loss forgiveness for that series, regardless of the reason for quitting.

Party restriction

Starting in Series 3, players who reach Platinum rank or beyond can only play with teammates who are one Tier higher or lower than them. This will help ensure that Ranked matches at higher Tiers offer better competitive matches.


The time for which an assist will be counted has increased from 5s to 7.5s. Not only that, but even abilities that deal no damage can still count towards assists. If a Pathfinder grapples a player, and within 7.5s if he is knocked down, the Pathfinder will receive an assist. Similarly, if Bloodhound or Crypto use their tracking abilities and, as a result of that tracking, the player gets knocked down, it will count as their assist.

Match Costs are not changing

Since all the changes coming to Ranked Series 3 have been mentioned, it is worth mentioning that the Match cost will remain the same, as well as the Kill and Assist points system. The entry cost system will be as follows:

  • Bronze matches are free
  • Silver matches cost 12RP
  • Gold matches cost 24RP
  • Platinum matches cost 36RP
  • Diamond matches cost 48RP
  • Master matches cost 60RP
  • Apex Predator matches cost 60RP

That’s all for this analysis. Make sure to stay tuned to Daily Esports for more Apex Legends news.